McCarty Ranch-Guest post by my mom

Since we didn’t make it to the grand opening event of the McCarty preserve, I’ve been eager to go for a visit. This cool Friday morning seemed ideal to meet my friend and go for a walk in the woods with the dogs. Looking at the map, the preserve is way out of town, but in reality it was a quick drive, about 12 miles from the Midway Road/ Glades Cut Off Road intersection (south on Glades Cut-off Rd, past Allapattah Flats school, left on Range Line Road, and it’s right past the Treasure Coast Air Park development).

2014-12-12 08.29.28

Once inside the preserve, an asphalt road leads you to a parking lot and something like a big hanger. Apparently this area is not quite complete; there was no informational display or trail map posted, but the huge flag poles indicated that this had to be the main parking area.

2014-12-12 08.24.412014-12-12 07.32.572014-12-12 07.36.522014-12-12 07.51.392014-12-12 08.23.452014-12-12 08.17.372014-12-12 08.16.392014-12-12 08.20.35

Pulling into the parking lot, four deer ran along the edge of the woods, looked at the car and disappeared before I got to take a picture. A trail leading into the woods starts at the parking lot, obviously just recently cleared and dug up by hogs all along. At the end, it was just me and my little dog since my friend had to deliver a forgotten chemistry study guide to school (!), and it felt a little lonely out there, especially since the dog took off several times and didn’t reappear for what felt like a very long time. He was happy, wet, and dirty and must have disturbed a hog that was stomping past me much too close for my comfort. The dog stayed on the leash for the rest of the time and the well-marked trail led to a big open lake.  After making my way back to the car, I drove further into the preserve and reached the lake that way. It was a gravel road by then and led from the big lake to some smaller ones, but by then the road wasn’t really for my little car anymore. The lake seems perfect for a kayak/canoe trip, and I saw one fisherman at one of the lakes. Lots of signs posted everywhere; it’s really just the entrance area that could be made a little more inviting.

2014-12-12 08.27.52

Looking at the brochure now, I see that you’re really not supposed to bring your dog, oops!

McCarty Ranch brochure

Click to access McCarty_Ranch_Preserve_overview_2014-w.pdf

4 thoughts on “McCarty Ranch-Guest post by my mom

    • Thanks Randi, can anyone join the blog? As you know I post pictures of my kayak weekly outings on my blog called Krazy K
      ayak Kanadian in St Lucie County Florida. i will be sure to post pictures if I kayak here. I have not posted 2 recent kayak trips but will soon. One was from Lost river in Palm City and the one this past Tuesday was from the Port St. Lucie Blvd area down to Kitchen cove near Club Med,

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Bailey, I have truly enjoyed this “blog” tour of the preserves. You have done an excellent job. I hope you continue this blog after the personal project timeline has ended. You have done a wonderful job that needs more attention. I do hope you view the materials I gave you yesterday. I really wonder what will be the potential impact of All Aboard Florida on any of these preserves. It may be worth taking the time to communicate with some of the community leaders about this issue once you have taken the time to research the AAF project.

    Like

Leave a comment